Rossweisse
RIP Rossweisse, HellHost and long-time Shipmate.
Please see the thread in All Saints remembering her.

You Can Tell I'm A Poet By My Hat

FirenzeFirenze Shipmate, Host Emeritus
For 'poet' substitute author or painter or potter or any other type of 'Creative' - how much is that indicated by the style of dress? (Spin-off from remarks on @Lamb Chopped 's conservatism thread).

One the one hand, you have T S Eliot who dressed as a bank clerk (as indeed he was), and on the other Frida Kahlo who went about like a one-woman Cinco de Mayo.

What assumptions, however specious, can we make from clothing - our own or others?

Comments

• mousethiefmousethief Shipmate
    I am a writer of ancient folk songs, but I left my hat on Ilkley Moor.

I think clothing is less and less of an indicator of anything but class/wealth, at least in the United States. Two-piece suits are the common business attire for male office jockeys, whether they work in banking or insurance or law or accounting or whatever. Better-fitting suits indicate higher socioeconomic status. But bankers no longer wear green eyeshades (can't speak to card sharks), few real estate agents still wear jewel-tone sportcoats, and so on.
  • GalilitGalilit Shipmate
    edited August 4
    I think I look like a Guardianista* of a Certain Age
    Which I am

[*A reader of the Brit newspaper The Guardian.]
  • MiffyMiffy Shipmate
    Galilit wrote: »
    I think I look like a Guardianista* of a Certain Age
    Which I am

[*A reader of the Brit newspaper The Guardian.]

Mrs Weber style, @Galilit ? http://theslingsandarrows.com/mrs-webers-diary/

• Lamb ChoppedLamb Chopped Shipmate
    edited August 4