Please see Styx thread on the Registered Shipmates consultation for the main discussion forums - your views are important, continues until April 4th.

Heaven: 2022 Food, marvelous food! Recipes we enjoy...or not!

jedijudyjedijudy Heaven Host
edited January 2023 in Limbo
Here is the place for us to share about the food on our tables. This is a good place to put hints we've discovered while tweaking recipes and ingredients; or to share the tried and true recipes that are staples in our homes!

Comments

• I'd like to make a cooking -related New Year's Resolution. I used to enjoy cooking, back in the pre-Covid days when we had visitors regularly, and my everyday cooking would be interspersed with more interesting recipes.

I've now had two years of cooking for just the three of us at the same level all the time and it has become a chore.

Can anyone recommend a cooking challenge? We get a weekly veg box, and we have an excellent butcher. I cook seasonally. I'm a competent everyday cook. My husband likes "meat, potatoes and veg" type meals several times a week.
  • DoublethinkDoublethink Admin, 8th Day Host
    edited January 2022
    One dish you’ve never made before per week ? As a designated experiment day.
  • NEQ, back in the days when I didn’t work full time I used to have a Friday evening feast night where I would cook several dishes on a theme. As I like Indian cooking there was a lot of curries involved :) alas, this has gone by the wayside with full time work and my husband having Friday night dos (and lockdown has replaced it with a takeaway night) but I hope to revive it when I reduce my workload in October.
  • Someone tried, as part of checking her recipe books while decluttering, spending a week cooking from each of the recipe books on her shelf in turn. Would that work?

Or you could try a recipe a week from the Riverford recipes?

Or a recipe a week from the Guardian Food columns?